Civil Service Commission


  • 4:00 pm
  • First Tuesday of each month
  • Ellensburg Police Department Training Room
    100 N. Pearl Street
    Ellensburg, WA 98926

To request remote attendance, please contact Trisha Weed at

To search agendas or subscribe to agendas, review these instructions.


There are three Civil Service Commission members, all of which are required to be City residents. Applicants must be City residents for at least three years preceding appointment. Members of the Civil Service Commission serve six-year terms. The Commission’s current members are:

  • Kathy Johnson, term expires December 31, 2025
  • Judy Pless, term expires December 31, 2026
  • Rich Searle, term expires December 31, 2024


The Civil Service Commission operates under the authority of Chapter 1.28 of the City Code and is responsible for:

  • Making rules and regulations regarding the manner in which Police Department examinations may be held and in which appointments, promotions, transfers, reinstatements, demotions, suspensions, and discharges shall be made
  • Hearing and determining appeals or complaints regarding the administrative work of the Personnel Departments, appeals of the allocation of positions, rejection of examinations, and other such matters as may be referred
  • Providing for, formulating, and holding competitive tests to determine the relative qualifications of persons seeking appointment
  • Establishing and maintaining eligibility lists for various classes of positions